Director Josh Trank Leaves 2nd Anthology Film!

Surprising news was posted today on StarWars.com.

Josh Trank, who directed the upcoming Fantastic Four film, has left his role as director for the next untitled Star Wars Anthology film.

In the article Josh says:

“After a year of having the incredible honor of developing with the wonderful and talented people at Lucasfilm, I’m making a personal decision to move forward on a different path. I’ve put a tremendous amount of thought into this, and I know deep down in my heart that I want to pursue some original creative opportunities. That said, the Star Wars universe has always been one of my biggest influences, and I couldn’t be more excited to witness its future alongside my millions of fellow Star Wars fans. I want to thank my friends Kathleen Kennedy, Kiri Hart, Simon Kinberg, and everyone at Lucasfilm and Disney for the amazing opportunity to have been a part of this. May the Force be with you all.”

I am sad to see him leave as I was looking forward to seeing his take on Star Wars. People say he is a huge fan and I really enjoyed Chronicle so I think it would’ve been good. However, this news means that we are now waiting to hear the announcement of who is going to be taking over the as yet unnamed second anthology film. Rumor has it (but I don’t deal in those) that Joss Whedon is interested in doing a Star Wars film…

-Derek1138

Leave a Reply

